04/03/2020

Keep Your Personal and Work Lives Separate With This Helpful Google Chrome Feature

Keep Your Personal and Work Lives Separate With This Helpful Google Chrome Feature

In a time when many of us are working from home, sitting at our dining room tables or (if we’re being honest) under the covers in bed, the line between work and life can start to blur.

Whether you’re sending personal emails on your work machine, or work emails on your personal machine, things can become tangled quickly. You may end up sending work-related emails from your personal address or, even worse, forgetting to log yourself out and leaving your account open for the next family member who uses the computer.

Google Chrome’s “Profiles”

It’s always important to follow your company’s security and HR guidelines when checking personal accounts on company-owned hardware and vice versa. The best rule to follow here is “when in doubt – don’t.” But if your company does allow you to access personal accounts, Google Chrome’s “Profiles” feature is here to help.

With Google Chrome’s “Profiles”, you can keep all of your browser data (bookmarks, history, passwords, and other settings) in one place, under one user profile, and switch between profiles as you go. This is especially helpful if you’re sharing your computer with multiple family members, or are just looking to find some work/life balance. In this case, we recommend creating a Chrome profile for your personal use, and a separate one for your work and professional use. This way, you can easily switch between profiles depending on what you’re working on.

Ready for a Game-Changer?

Does managing all of your accounts in an organized and up-to-date fashion, across all of your devices, sound like a game-changer? If so, setting up a new profile is a breeze: simply open Chrome, click on the profile icon in the top right corner (it may look like a grey “head” icon), and click “Add.” From here, you can log into your other profile and assign it a name and icon. You’ll also be given the option to turn on “Sync.” Chrome’s Sync functionality saves your browser history, bookmarks, passwords, etc. across all of your devices. We recommend turning this on, so you don’t need to worry about losing your info if you upgrade or get a new machine.

You can thank us later for not having all of your family recipes saved into your company’s sent mailbox. Or better yet, not having all of your work colleagues get your personal email address to bother you at all hours of the night.

For more information or advice on this and other work from home topics, don’t hesitate to get in touch. We’re here for you, and happy for an excuse to discuss anything tech related.